Bob Knight, 2015 Class Honored at 10th Annual Ceremony

Bill Hosket and Bob Knight at the 2015 Ohio Basketball Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony

Bill Hosket with 2015 Ohio Heritage Award Recipient Bob Knight.

View photos from the Ceremony

COLUMBUS – Legendary college basketball coach Bob Knight was the keynote speaker at the Ohio Basketball Hall of Fame’s 10th Anniversary Celebration and Ceremony on May 2, 2015 at the Greater Columbus Convention Center.

Knight, who was among those in the Hall of Fame’s charter class in 2006, received the 2015 Ohio Heritage Award, presented to a previous inductee of the Ohio Basketball Hall of Fame who has left his or her mark on Ohio after an active basketball career.
Jerry Lucas, a teammate of Knight’s at Ohio State University in the early 1960s, was the recipient of the first Ohio Heritage Award in 2012.

2015 Ohio Basketball Hall of Fame Class

The 2015 Class: John Tipton, Tom Dinger, Zydrunas Ilgauskas, Judy Van Wie, widow of the late Al Van Wie, Edith Spivey, Brooke Wyckoff, Theresa Check, Dave Jamerson, Marlene Stollings and Bert Price

The Ohio Basketball Hall of Fame’s number of individual inductees grew to 176 with the addition of 11 men and women who have made outstanding contributions to basketball in the Buckeye state. The seven former players, three coaches and an official were voted into the class that was be was enshrined May 2 at the Greater Columbus Convention Center.

The former players include: John Miner (Ohio State University), Dave Jamerson (Ohio University), Tom Dinger (College of Wooster), Bert Price (Wittenberg), Marlene Stollings (Ohio University), Brooke Wyckoff (Lakota High School) and former Cleveland Cavaliers center Zydrunas Ilgauskas.

Those selected for their coaching success were: Theresa Check (Central State University), Edith Spivey (Cleveland Shaw High School) and the late Al Van Wie (College of Wooster).                                                       .

John Tipton of Oak Hill, the official in the 2015 class, was selected by his fellow officials. All other selections were made by the OBHOF Board of Directors.

Two high school seniors received $1,000 scholarship for their outstanding work in and out of the classroom. Ashton Horsley of Athens High School and Bradley Malott from Middletown’s Madison High School were the 2015 recipients.

The Hall of Fame also honored Trever Smith, a sophomore from West Salem Northwestern High School for breaking the OHSAA Single Season Free Throw Percentage record.

Over 525 people attended the 10th Anniversary Ceremony & Celebration. “We were so pleased to welcome back nearly forty of our Hall of Fame Inductees from previous classes who joined us to celebrate our 10th Anniversary. People tell us they love this event and come back year after year because they get to meet their childhood heroes. It really is a memorable night not only for the current inductees, but for everyone who attends,” said Sheila Fox, Executive Director.

Ohio Basketball Hall of Famers

Hall of Famers in attendance at the 2015 Ceremony: Front row, L-R: Bill Hosket, Glen Hursey, Karen Wittrock, Joe Petrocelli, Dave Butcher, Don Henderson, John Rinka, Doc Daugherty, Bob Knight, Rex Leach. Row 2: Phyllis Bailey, Jerry Jackson, Joe Campoli, Robin Hagen Smith, Dixie Jeffers, Don Callan, Darrel Hedric. Row 3: Don Donoher, Dick Reynolds, Sam Lickliter, Ron Knight, Jeanne Arnzen Gulick, Jim Burson, Katie Smith, Tracey Hall Yarbrough, Jay Burson. Row 4: Tom Toohig, Steve Trout, Ron Niekamp, Dick Kortokrax, Dean Chance, Henry Zaborniak, D’Artis Jones, Eldon Miller, Dennis Hopson, Howard Jolliff.








View and download more photos from the evening’s festivities

Oscar Robertson, 1955 Crispus Attucks H.S. Teammates Named Grand Marshals of Indianapolis 500 Festival Parade

May 20, 2015 OBHOF Charter Inductee Oscar Robertson and his nine surviving teammates from the 1955 Indianapolis Crispus Attucks High School basketball team — the first all-black team to win a state title in any sport, anywhere in the country — will be honored this Saturday, May 23, as Grand Marshals of the Indianapolis 500 Festival parade. And they will be celebrated in a manner denied to them 60 years ago. Prior to 1955, the team that won the state […]

Social Media Integration Powered by Acurax Wordpress Theme Designers
Facebook IconYouTube IconTwitter IconFollow us on Google+Follow us on Google+